Montana Synod

HOME   Contact Us   Site Map   

ELCA 25th Anniversary logo



About Us


The Montana Synod is one of 65 synods of the Evangelical Lutheran Church in America. The ELCA was formed in 1988 as a merger of the Lutheran Church in America, the American Lutheran Church and the Association of Evangelical Lutheran Churches. The roots of the Montana Synod can be traced back to 1881 when three Norwegian-American families settled along Sweet Grass Creek near the community of Melville in south central Montana.


The Montana Synod with its 38,000 baptized members in 130 congregations (5 in Wyoming) and other preaching points, is served by 185 pastors in congregational and specialized ministries. In addition, 13 Associates in Ministry also serve our ministries. We have 23+ persons in the candidacy process preparing for future church leadership and 66+ persons in the Lay Pastoral Associates program.



Montana Synod, ELCA
2415 13th Avenue South, Great Falls, MT 59405
[Voice] 406.453.1461   [Fax] 406.761.4632



2415 13th Avenue South - Great Falls, MT 59405 [Phone] 406.453.1461 [Fax] 406.761.4632
© 2007 Montana Synod, Evangelical Lutheran Church in America
Website design, development and hosting by dStudio Designs.
ELCA Website Region 1 Website